Art Construit (cover), source:

With the publication of Art Construit in 1960, a new, radical group manifests itself that services geometric abstraction. The group Art Abstrait (1952 - 1956) refines itself to the radical Art Construit (1960 - 1964) via Espace (1952) and Formes (1956 - 1960).

Art Construit is founded by the painter Jo Delahaut. Along with the critics Jean Séaux and Maurits Bilcke, the paper turns away from the lyrical abstraction and the uprising of informal art. Among others, Kurt Lewy (1898 - 1963), Victor Noël (1916 - 2006), Guy Vandenbranden (1926 - 2014) and Paul Van Hoeydonck (1925), associate themselves with the group. Like-minded groups, under the same name, were already formed in Newcastle, Paris, Amsterdam, Zagreb, Milan and Zürich, inter alia. An international exhibition of the group in the Museum of Elsene displays work by Josef Albers (1888 - 1976), Alexander Calder (1898 - 1976), Sonia Delaunay (1885 - 1979), Jean Dewasne (1921-1999), Auguste Herbin (1882-1960), Alberto Magnelli (1888 - 1971) and Victor Vasarely (1906 - 1997), among others, and was the direct introduction to the publication of the first edition of Art Construit (January 1960). From among others, texts are taken from Séaux, Bilcke, Michel Seuphor and Carlo Belloli. Vasarely also has a text admitted and an image from his Peinture Cinétique on the cover. The second number (April 1960) is dedicated to the recently deceased August Herbin, after which publication stops.

The group still has exhibitions in the Liège Musée de l’art Wallon and the Groeninge Museum in Bruges (in collaboration with Raaklijn). In 1964, an homage for Séaux follows in the Galerie de la Madeleine (Brussels).


Sergio Servellón


CC-BY-NC (Creative Commons 4.0)